Grace…Grace….Grace Sprinkled With A Little Mercy

Fall 030So in my last post I said that I would talk about my faith in Jesus Christ and how being a Christian saved my life while dealing with divorce and the aftermath of divorce.  I once told a former pastor that I had been born a Christian and he said that was impossible so I amended my speech and stated that I had always had a heart that leaned toward being a Christian and he agreed with that statement.  I was baptized when I was eight and I knew that I was going to love God all the days of my life.

When in high school I walked out my faith and after graduation I attended a small local Bible College where I was like a sponge soaking up all that I could learn about the Bible.  I wanted to be a missionary and so when given the opportunity to go with an evangelical team to Hong Kong, I went, even though I hated eating rice.  That is where I met my ex-husband actually, but that’s another story.

After Bible College I dove into married life and I strove to be the Proverbs 31 woman…..I failed.  I was not the best Mother just as I am not the best Grandmother or Mother-in-law.  I admit it.  But I tried to live out my faith in God and I tried to impart my love for Jesus in my children.  I did all the things one expects a young Christian woman to do.  I taught Sunday School as well as VBS, directed a few VBS’s, directed several choirs, played the piano and organ for church, did many special music performances for church, taught adult women studies, and sat on various church related committees.  I wrote poetry and songs as well as many letters of encouragement, sent cards to the sick, sent care packages, helped with special projects, made baby quilts, knitted sweaters, and so much more.

Then came that ugly life interrupting divorce and I felt that I had failed God, not to mention my family, my children, and my friends.  It took a long time for me to realize that I had not failed anyone but someone had failed me.  Again Proverbs came through with much wisdom on the issue.  I became nearly obsessed with the Bible and began an in-depth study of anything that could give me some insight as to how to proceed as a single woman….a single Mom.  I learned that grace and mercy was granted to me in abundance and that I had the capacity to pass them along to others.  I learned that even though I felt responsible for the behavior of others I really was only responsible for one person’s actions…..my own.  I am so glad that I dug into the scriptures to learn, to understand, and to grow as a Christian and I’ll tell you about it in my next post.

Bye for now…..KatherineMay Flowers 042

Leave a Reply

