Who Am I? For That Matter……Who Are You?

HPIM0609aWho am I? For that matter who are you? This is a very thought provoking question, who we are. If I were to describe myself to you would I measure up to your expectation? If you already know me then would I describe myself as you see me? Probably not.

Why am I here? Why am I writing a post asking such a fundamental question? Perhaps the answer to that question is because deep within each one of us we want the answers to these questions. Hmmmmm? What is the purpose for life, for my life and for your life?

I believe that my being born was no accident, although my sister used to tell me that I was an accident, an unplanned interruption to her life. Perhaps for a few years in childhood I believed her, after all she was ten years older than me and she knew everything! But as I grew up I realized that my life was to have meaning and purpose and that I was supposed to be born.

The cycle of life is being created, being born, growing up, growing old, preparing for death, dying and then what? Some believe that is it and nothing more. Yet all around us we see the cycle of life in plants in trees and in animals. Flowers come every spring and die every winter to return every spring. Trees burst forth with new leaves every spring and then shed them every fall and we humans throw them into the mulch bin or the trash to be hauled off to some place we can’t view them. Yet every spring without fail the cycle of life begins again. If God created plants and animals with such great detail to last a season then surly I am important enough to be assured of having a purpose for existing season after season.Fall 004

So I ask again, who am I and who are you? Are we courageous, brave, smart, silly, contented, angry, lovable or not lovable? Do we spread joy to others or do we bring heartache? Do we live a life bound up in fear or a life that is fearless? Do we contribute to our world or only take from our world? Are we kind to neighbors and family or mean to them or worse yet act as if they don’t even exist!

Psalm 139:13 says, For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. (New International Version or NIV). If I was special enough that God knitted me into being, then wouldn’t there be a purpose to my life? I will give God praise for creating me and I will honor Him for giving me life. How do I know what it right to do, what is my purpose?

The book of Proverbs is full of great advice. It is found in the Old Testament of the Bible. I read Proverbs often and I found some great advice to pass along found in Proverbs 2:6-11, For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. He holds success in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless, for he guards the course of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones. Then you will understand what is right and just and fair—every good path. For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul. Discretion will protect you, and understanding will guard you, (NIV).

I want to live a life filled with wisdom so that I can avoid trouble and so that I can be content that I have done what is right. I want God’s protecting shield to guard me from trouble and to protect me so that I can not only know what is right to do in all situations but to have the courage to do what is right! I know who I am. I am a child of God, a Christ follower, a woman who loves life, a single Mom, a Mother-in-law, a friend, a woman of purpose. Who are you? Do you know? Have you thought about this much?Wedding Trip 2014 133

Until next time……Katherine

Leave a Reply

