As For Me and My House…..

When I moved recently from one community to another in Nebraska, the small group Bible Study I had been a part of for several years gave me a parting gift. I have shown a photo of this lovely reminder from my Christian friends.

Feb 2015 005

I love this verse found in Joshua 24:15 “But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD” (New International Version or NIV).

I think the gift is special because of not only the words chosen but also the person that was so creative in turning an ordinary discarded window that had been tossed aside as useless into a piece of folk art. It reminds me of not only the lovely people I left behind from that small group, but also of the work Jesus Christ has done and continues to do in my life. It reminds me that I belong to the Lord and God is my protector in all things. It reminds me that as a follower of Jesus Christ I have been grafted into the tree of life and have been forgiven of my sins. What a wonderful reminder of God’s love and protection.

How has God protected me, you may ask? Well friend, let me tell you that God has given me a new outlook on life. I am not an old bitter woman who was thrown out like yesterday’s garbage!  And a relationship I was wholeheartedly committed to that ended after more than three decades of love and faithfulness has not turned me bitter. I could be that old bitter woman, but I am not, old, maybe…but not bitter! I am not wandering the streets or going without the necessities in life. I don’t go hungry. I could have been and I was left pretty much homeless after the marital home sold but God provided a safe place for me and my son to live. God provided a banker and a pastor who were patient and insightful as my advisers and counselors. God provided understanding teachers to work with my son. God provided me a way when there appeared to be no way and for that I am eternally grateful. Most of all God provided me with supportive and loving children who have not abandoned me even when I was a mess! God provided me protection from myself and friends who did not leave me and a community to heal in and to dream of a future yet to come that will be worth the journey.

God gave me a precious little boy who needed love and attention and correction and taught and taken care of. That little boy has been such a delight. His positive attitude has rubbed off on me as it was so contagious. When I was at my lowest and didn’t want to get out of bed I would hear a precious young happy voice come bounding into my bed and say. “Good morning Mommy, the sun is shining and it’s going to be a great day…what are we going to do today Mommy?” Morning after morning after morning the same gracious optimistic loving innocent words streamed to my dark world and I know God was behind them. I got up and I got going. Healing is never quick, never painless but always preciously wonderful when completed.

How did God protect me? In so many ways and through so many people and with so much tenderness, that is how. Songs sung at church were healing, words read from the Bible were healing, and tears were healing and time was healing. God came through when my prayer for help was given and that is why I love those words on my window art….”As for me and my house we will serve the Lord.” He is worthy of my praise and his way is so much easier than many think.

Until next time…………Katherine

4 thoughts on “As For Me and My House…..

    1. Blessings are so special. I find them everywhere. Just today I was Skyping with my Granddaughter who is two and when she saw me she gave me such a special blessing….her face lite up and with a big smile she yelled “Grandma!” My hear jumped for joy because of her reaction in seeing me…such a blessing. I think far too often we run so fast in our lives that we forget to stop and think of the many blessings we have! Glad you enjoyed my post and thank you for your comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

