Praying Mamas

Old Family Photos 001I was fortunate enough to have a praying Mama. She prayed for all of her family every day. For those who were living life on the edge she prayed for protection from others and from themselves. For those who appeared to be doing well she thanked God for blessing them and asked that He continue to work in their life. For those still unborn and the generations coming after her she prayed that God would draw them closer than ever to Him and that she would meet them in heaven one day. If someone was ill, she prayed that they would be made well and on and on went her prayers for her family, for her neighbors, for her friends and for complete strangers.

My Grandma was a praying woman. I had the pleasure of hearing her pray when I was a child and she prayed with me. She prayed for more than fifty years that my granddad would become a Christian and when he was eighty years old he accepted Christ as his personal savior and was baptized. God heard and answered her prayer for her husband. I am sure that God answered many of her prayers.

My Great-Grandma was also a praying woman. She prayed wonderful prayers before we had a meal together. She prayed that God would keep her children safe, her grandchildren, great-grandchildren and great-great-grandchildren all safe from harm. She was the most optimistic contented and happy Christian woman I think that I have ever known and I wonder if that was someone’s prayer for her as well.

Old Family Photos 023
Four generations of women in my family.

As far back as I can trace my Mother’s family there have been strong praying Mamas. My sister was a praying Mama also.  What a beautiful legacy that is to have. I am a praying Mama and my daughter is a praying Mama also. We pray for our children to be healthy and to follow Christ. We pray for them when they struggle and when they are naughty as young children will sometimes be. We pray for our children to be good students and to listen and learn as much about the world as they can. But the greatest prayer request that I personally have is for you, the person that is reading this right now. Believe it or not, I am praying for you.

My prayer for you is that you will be encouraged by what you read here because so much of the news and events in our world today are negative. I pray for peace in the world, a peace that can only be felt inside one’s heart, a peace with God. I pray for those of you who are struggling with horrible diseases that God help you to see the good in your life because I see the good. I pray for those who are experiencing an empty nest that you will find a greater purpose than you have ever felt before. I pray for you who may have lost your way a bit, that you will find your way back to our Father. I pray for all of us to experience the joy that comes only from contentedness which comes only from love which comes only from our heavenly Father and His son, Jesus Christ. I pray for you who feel broken and unloved that you will feel the love of Jesus in your life, that some light will shine on you and some truth will be spoken to you, that you will know there is hope in this world. I will continue to pray and I hope there will be a time when I am joined in prayer with others.

How do we learn to pray, how did I learn to pray for others? I believe my first prayer that was not coached by my elders was probably very short, just one word…HELP! I have learned a few things about prayer and honestly, it was through my becoming a Mom that I became a Praying Mama. I think the best prayer in all of scripture is the Lord’s Prayer where Jesus was teaching His disciples to pray, found in the Bible, Matthew 6:9-13:
“Pray, then, in this way: ‘Our Father who is in heaven, Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come. Your will be done, On earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day
our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For Yours is the kingdom
and the power and the glory forever. Amen.’” (New American Standard Bible).

When I study this prayer it seems so simple and yet so powerful. We address God the Father who resides where? He resides in heaven and His name is Holy, that is what hallowed means. His kingdom has come and His will, or desire, is done here on earth and in heaven both. The first thing to ask for is not a new Mercedes or good health but something much simpler, our daily bread, which implies that we should pray daily. After our daily needs are met we can ask for forgiveness of the wrongs we have committed but there is a reminder here that we are also to forgive those who have wronged us personally. Next we are to ask God to help us with the temptations in life and who doesn’t have temptations I ask? Think for a moment before you answer that question…the obvious answer is that we all struggle with temptation of one kind or another. Knowing that helps me to forgive others because I need forgiveness as well. We ask to be delivered from evil and God will deliver us from evil. Why do I know that I will be delivered from evil? Because of the next statement, that God’s kingdom is powerful and filled with the glory of our Lord. Wow! Everything is covered in this simple prayer, God’s purpose for my life, God’s plan for the world, God’s working within the universe…everything!

Grandma_portraitI hope that you will become a praying person and that you will experience the peace that comes from a clear heart that is right with God. I hope that you will pray for your family, your friends, for strangers, for missionaries and missions, for the neighbors, for school teachers, for your church family and pastoral staff…pray for the leaders of your country as well. And may the Lord’s Prayer be a model for your own prayers. Thank you Lord, for the legacy of Praying Mama’s.

Until next time…..Katherine

Leave a Reply

