You Matter!

January 2008 079I have a friend who has health problems and sometimes doesn’t feel that useful to God. I know that she struggles with her emotions as do many of us. I have another friend who feels that life has given her a raw deal and that no one really cares whether she is alive or dead. We all can feel that way at times, right? I sure have and it is during those times in my life when I felt the least productive for the Kingdom of Jesus Christ and pretty much useless to anyone else! But during those times God showed me just how special He thinks that I am. I want you to know that you matter to God! You matter to your family! You matter to me!

“I loathe my very life; therefore I will give free rein to my complaint and speak out in the bitterness of my soul. I say to God: Do not declare me guilty, but tell me what charges you have against me. Does it please you to oppress me, to spurn the work of your hands, while you smile on the plans of the wicked? Job 10:1-3, (New International Version or NIV).

First of all I want to encourage you that great men of the faith have felt like they didn’t matter in life. Job certainly had reason to feel down in the dumps because he suffered many great losses in his lifetime and didn’t understand why he was being so viciously dealt with by God. Little did he know that it was a test of God for Satan to see that Job was a faithful servant of God’s. You matter just as much as Job mattered and perhaps what you are going through is a test for Satan to fail rather than for you to fail.

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. Psalm 46:1-3, (NIV).

Secondly you have a stronghold to run to and to draw daily strength from in God so run! The world may get you down but not for long because God will lift you up and why? Because you matter to Him, you are His child! Don’t give into fear of the world’s making because this world is only our temporary home. Remember that our citizenship is in heaven!

The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Come and see what the Lord has done, the desolations he has brought on the earth. He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth. He breaks the bow and shatters the spear; he burns the shields with fire. He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:8-10, (NIV).

The Third thing to remember is that God is in charge of this world ultimately and nothing happens without His being witness to it. He is fighting for us and surrounds us with His fortress of protection. He will put an end to the earthly desires and fleshly battles just as He will one day put an end to all wars and make the nations acknowledge that He is God. Be quiet, wait for it, and know that God is in control of your well-being just as He is in charge of the world stage and all its players.

Meanwhile, when a crowd of many thousands had gathered, so that they were trampling on one another, Jesus began to speak first to his disciples, saying: “Be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees, which is hypocrisy. There is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. What you have said in the dark will be heard in the daylight, and what you have whispered in the ear in the inner rooms will be proclaimed from the roofs. “I tell you, my friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body and after that can do no more. But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear him who, after your body has been killed, has authority to throw you into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him. Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Luke 12:1-7, (NIV).

Finally I want you to see how Jesus feels about you, dear friends. The Pharisees showed favoritism to the wealthy and the powerful but Jesus said they were hypocrites. He warned His disciples not to fall into the trap of favoritism and legalism. The motive of a heart we humans can’t always see is what God judges people on and not the outward appearance. Jesus teaches us to not fear what others can do to us. If we are thrown in prison for our faith then don’t fear what treatment we will receive. If we are persecuted because of our faith then so be it because our faith is more important than other people’s opinions of us. If we build our life on what others think of us then we fear what others think more than fearing what God thinks. God evaluates our motivation and will judge it all. But notice the last few sentences.

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Vs. 6-7

November 015If you take a look in your backyard or nearest park you will most likely see a lot of sparrows. There are sparrows everywhere, a plethora of sparrows exist worldwide, too many to be counted and quite common to see. Yet God remembers and cares for every one of them. And who can count the hairs on your head? Granted some have less than others but still do you know the number of your hairs on your head? No, it is impossible for us to count every strand of hair on our head, but God knows how many . He cares that deeply for you to be that concerned about you and your hair! Are you valuable to God? Of course you are and I hope that I have proven it to you through scriptures.

November 018You matter to God. Whether you are rich or poor, fat or skinny, old or young, bald or not, glasses or contacts or none, ill or well, married or single, male or female, you matter to God! Because we started this post with Job feeling unloved by God I want to end with Job, thirty-two chapters later Job had this to say to God.

Then Job replied to the Lord: “I know that you can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted. You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without knowledge?’ Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know. “You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak; I will question you, and you shall answer me.’ My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you. Therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes.” Job 42:1-6, (NIV).

Job repented his sin of questioning why God was dealing with him so horribly. He didn’t understand things that were too wonderful to know! Wow! Maybe that is your situation today as well. God is working for your good but you don’t see it yet. Be assured that you matter to God and you matter to your family. You matter to me as well, so hang in there!Photos of Erica 009

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

