Thanksgiving Thoughts….

More October Sky 008I am thankful today. The road has been long and there have been many winding mountainous curves where I could not see what lay ahead in life. The air has been thick with fog at times and full of pouring rain from the storms of life that have hindered me from a clear view in the journey. The darkness has been overwhelming at times as I waited for the dawn; but I am thankful. I am thankful for the grace of God that has covered me. I am thankful for being a Christian. I am thankful for being older because youth is overrated. I am thankful for family and children and grandchildren. I am even thankful for grand-pups. Yes, today I am thankful for breath that I inhale and then exhale as it keeps me alive. I am thankful.

November 025I am thankful for the choices I have made in life to remain true to my Lord for His love enables me to forgive others. I am thankful for good times as well as the not-so-good times because I have grown up in body, spirit and soul. I am thankful for the hard trials that came to beat me down until I opened my ears to hear God’s truth and applied what I had learned. I am thankful for the good times where encouragement was a gift not to be forgotten and stored up for dark days yet to come. I am thankful.

October Sky 016I am thankful for the faithfulness of God and that He never gave up on me when I gave up on myself. I am thankful for the joy that sprang from mourning and tears that soothed the aching heart. I am thankful for the years behind me because they have made me strong and beautiful in spirit. I am thankful for the years to come because they are hoped for and will be adventurous for sure. I am thankful for each new day because it brings another day of life and hope of living it well.

More October Sky 006I am thankful for Jesus Christ because He gave up so much to give me a new beginning and made me a new creature. I am thankful for the teachings in the Holy Bible and for the examples to follow of far greater men and women than I am. I am thankful for the love that flows through Christ and into me that allows me to love at all and for all time. I am thankful for the cross and the shed blood that gives me hope for tomorrow.

End of summer 028I am thankful for the Holy Spirit that dwells within me making my body a temple of God. I am thankful for the Spirit’s conviction and transformation of this weary soul into a new creature in Christ. I am thankful for the guidance in all things that comes from the prompting by the Holy Spirit to do good, to never tire of doing good and not evil. Yes I am thankful.

March 2013 031In preparation for this day set aside as Thanksgiving, I am thankful for the thousands upon thousands of blessings that God has poured out upon me, my family, my community, my country, and I thank Him always. I have never gone hungry, never been without shelter, never without clothes, never without a car, never without someone’s prayers, never without someone’s love, never without family, never without friends. I am thankful because I am so blessed.

Along with their fellowship offering of thanksgiving they are to present an offering with thick loaves of bread made with yeast, Leviticus 7:13 (English Standard Version or ESV).

When Daniel knew that the document had been signed, he went to his house where he had windows in his upper chamber open toward Jerusalem. He got down on his knees three times a day and prayed and gave thanks before his God, as he had done previously, Daniel 6:10, (ESV).

Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever, I Chronicles 16:34, (ESV).

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! Psalm 100:4 (ESV).

Praise the LORD! Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! Psalm 106:1 (ESV).

Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever, Psalm 136:1 (ESV).

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you, I Thessalonians 5:16-18, (ESV).

And do not get drunk with wine, for that is debauchery, but be filled with the Spirit, addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart, giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ, Ephesians 5:18-21, (ESV).

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him, Colossians 3:15-17, (ESV).

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God, I Corinthians 10:31(ESV).

And the twenty-four elders who sit on their thrones before God fell on their faces and worshiped God, saying, “We give thanks to you, Lord God Almighty, who is and who was, for you have taken your great power and begun to reign, Revelation 11:16-17, (ESV) .

End of summer 018Thankfulness is scriptural as you can see from these few scriptures. They are but only a few of the verses in the Bible that offer thanks to God. How blessed most of us are today to have access to God’s word to read and to apply to our daily lives. I am so thankful for every moment in my life because God has walked me through and taught me as a parent instructing a child. Thanks for this journey. I can look forward to the future knowing that I am never alone as Jesus walks with me every day. My prayer for you all is that you also have a heart full of gratitude and thanks in your own journey. Happy Thanksgiving.November 018

Until next time…Katherine

HPIM2423

Leave a Reply

