Christmas Music Is In The Air!

October Sky 021I love Christmas music more than anything else I think. I love the old familiar songs that I have heard from childhood. I love the new Christmas songs that are becoming traditional also. I love to sit down and play them on my piano to my heart’s content. I love to play songs for fun and for praising God. I love to sing about Santa coming to town and I love to sing about the birth of Jesus on a silent night. I love to hear the music on the radio for Christmas also. It makes me nostalgic, it lifts my spirit, it makes me long for heaven, it makes me long for my family, it refreshes me, and inspires me. I think of nothing better than Christmas music! I feel a song coming on right now!?!?!

Pre-Christmas 2013 041On the first day of Christmas my true-love gave to me…wait, I don’t have a true-love any longer since he decided to play somewhere else so let’s see who can we substitute here? I don’t have a dog or a cat or a gerbil or an iguana or a bird, but I do have a loving God so let’s substitute God, after all He is my all and Jesus is the reason for the season, right?

Flip Book 003On the first day of Christmas, Heavenly Father gave to me, a partridge in a pear tree. On the second day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree. (So far we are eating poultry I guess! Cool!!)

On the third day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me three French hens (More poultry! I’m so excited!!!) two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree. On the fourth day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me, four calling birds, (More poultry?) three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree.

DSCF6656On the fifth day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me five golden rings, (Aww! Not more poultry! Cool, I think!!) four calling birds three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree.  On the sixth day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me six geese a laying, (You guessed it, more poultry eggs,) five golden rings, four calling bird, three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree.

Christmas 2010 & Wrestling Camp 2011 001On the seventh day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me seven swans a swimming, (Not more poultry!?!) six geese a laying, five golden rings, four calling birds three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree. On the eighth day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me eight maids a milking, (Why? I’m allergic to milk!) seven swans a swimming, six geese a laying, five golden rings, four calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree!

DSCF6655On the ninth day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me nine ladies dancing, (Where are the men? I’m single after all!)) eight maids a milking, seven swans a swimming, six geese a laying, five golden rings, four calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree. On the tenth day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me ten lords a leaping, (Finally! You know one would have been enough!) nine ladies dancing, eight maids a milking, seven swans a swimming, six geese a laying, five golden rings, four calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree.

Christmas 2010 & Wrestling Camp 2011 024On the eleventh day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me eleven pipers piping, (I think they are bag pipes! They will wake up the neighborhood!) ten lords a leaping, nine ladies dancing, eight maids a milking, seven swans a swimming, six geese a laying, five golden rings, four calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree. On the twelfth day of Christmas Heavenly Father gave to me twelve drummers drumming, (What a parade!) eleven pipers piping, ten lords a leaping, nine ladies dancing, eight maids a milking, seven swans a swimming, six geese a laying, five golden rings, four calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree. Wow! Thank you for copy and paste!

DSCF6652Truth is that my Heavenly Father has given me so much abundance that I really feel humbled by His gifts. While it is fun to sing this ridiculous song that seems to go on forever and is part of most Christmas traditions, I like to alter it to the true giver of gifts which is of course God.

Do not be deceived, my beloved brothers. Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. Of his own will he brought us forth by the word of truth, that we should be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures. James 1:16-18, (English Standard Version of ESV).

I love this passage because it reminds me that everything I have (every gift you all have given me through the years, and every gift of friendship and every word I type) is a gift given to me by God, my Heavenly Father. Every gift I give to my friends and family this year will be given with much love and care. There will be a lot of love that has gone into the making of them and thought into purchasing them. My gifts are small in comparison to the gifts God gives us.

Christmas 2014 067Think about the gifts in nature that God creates for us to enjoy. There is nothing more beautiful than a sunrise until you see the sunset. There is nothing more beautiful than a baby until you see the adult they grow up to be. There is nothing more beautiful than you and all the joy you bring into this world. Thank you God for all the wonderful gifts you give every day to me, to you reading this right now, and to the world.

The Father of lights does not give bad gifts because good is all that can come from Him. Satan tries to emulate light but there is always a shadow that tells us it’s not the real deal! There’s more to this passage, Jesus is calling us forth so that we are the first fruits of His creatures. That is what Christmas is all about, Jesus! We are Jesus’s first fruits…do you feel it? Like a pear tree? We give to others because of all the wonderful gifts we have been given. Thanks be to God for Christmas, for Christ, for grace, for salvation, for eternity with Jesus!

DSCF0067O Come Emmanuel (1861 Version)

O come, O come, Emmanuel, And ransom captive Israel,
That mourns in lonely exile here, Until the Son of God appear.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, Thou Rod of Jesse, free Thine own from Satan’s tyranny;
From depths of hell Thy people save, And give them victory o’er the grave.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, Thou Dayspring, from on high, And cheer us by Thy drawing nigh;
Disperse the gloomy clouds of night, And death’s dark shadows put to flight.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, Thou Key of David, come And open wide our heav’nly home;
Make safe the way that leads on high, And close the path to misery.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, Adonai, Lord of might, Who to Thy tribes, on Sinai’s height,
In ancient times didst give the law In cloud and majesty and awe.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel Shall come to thee, O Israel.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O_come,_O_come,_Emmanuel

The greatest gift ever was the gift given by God to the world, victory over death was accomplished by Jesus Christ when he rose to life after being crucified for our sins. We are the first fruits of Jesus because we believe in Him, that He was born of a virgin, died on the cross in our place, and rose again to prepare us for eternity with Him. That is the best Christmas gift of all! So fill your home with the joyful music of the season and Merry Christmas! May the peace of this season reign in your hearts until He comes again!Pre-Christmas 2013 008

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

