Joseph’s Song

DSCF6691Mary said, “I’m pregnant.” Joseph spoke not a word. His feeling was betrayal; Mary had not kept her word. And as he lay his head down, his mind could not be still. The hurt he felt in his heart, well that hurt was very real.

“What am I to do Jehovah, where am I to turn? Who was it that gave Mary the child within her womb? Why’d this have to happen now? What else can I do? Speak to me Jehovah Jireh, please tell me Your will.”

Christmas 2010 & Wrestling Camp 2011 026The stars twinkled and late that night Joseph had a dream.   And when he woke his heart was quiet, he knew there was no scheme.  He smiled, and then it hit him, Mary carried God’s own Son.  He knew there’d be a scandal, but they would face it , two as one.

“What am I to do Jehovah? Where am I to turn? You gave my Mary Your own Son, the Child within her womb, Why’d this have to happen now? What else can I do? Speak to me Jehovah Jireh, please tell me your will.”

December 2009 001When the Baby came that night, in the stable at Bethlehem, Joseph watched this heavenly Child and wondered what lie ahead.  As the humble shepherds came to bow before their King, the Babe was oh so tiny then Joseph turned to Jehovah again.

“What am I to do Jehovah? Where am I to turn? How can I raise Your own Son, the Child from Mary’s womb? Why’d this have to happen now? What else can I do? Speak to me Jehovah Jireh, please tell me your will.”

DSCF6652The house was small, they settled in, soon the wise men came to see.  They had followed a very bright star to worship the Baby King.  When the travelers all had gone Joseph had another dream.  So they fled to Egypt to escape old King Herod’s evil scheme.

“What am I to do Jehovah? Where am I to turn? How can I raise Your dear Son, the Child from Mary’s womb? Why’d this have to happen now? What else can I do? Speak to me Jehovah Jireh, and tell me your will.” (By Katherine, 2000)

Christmas 2010 & Wrestling Camp 2011 001When I think of Joseph I think of a man who must have been emotionally strong, physically strong, and a wonderful Father.  He is the greatest example of a step-father that the Bible has.  We don’t know what happened to Joseph because the Bible doesn’t tell us  but we do know that he reared Jesus as his own.  Joseph protected Mary from death because he married her knowing that she was pregnant and there were others that knew this as well.  He had to have been an extraordinary man of God.  Joseph’s story reminds me that there are some extraordinary people living ordinary lives and making a great impact for the Kingdom of God without being in the limelight.

DSCF6639I wrote Joseph’s Song as a reminder of this great Godly man.  Today in our own culture I don’t think we can really fathom the depth of the despair Joseph must have gone through in marrying his beloved Mary.  God did have to intervene and tell Joseph that all would be okay and God directed Joseph when to leave his homeland and when to return from Egypt.  Joseph is a hero of the Bible that few appreciate.  I am glad he lived and was a part of the Christmas story.  Merry Christmas everyone.

Until next time…Katherine

Pre-Christmas 2013 008

Leave a Reply

