God Is Faithful

DSCF6673I have an amazing God! He is so faithful and far too often I don’t praise Him or thank Him for His faithfulness to me. No matter where I have been in my life, no matter where I am going right now in my life, no matter where I go in the future there is one constant, one thing that I can count on…not money…not security…not people…not good health…but the fact is that my God is faithful to me. When you have been betrayed like I have been several times, it is huge to be the recipient of such faithfulness.

January 2008 126I have, like many people, many broken dreams. I wanted to be a missionary, but life took me elsewhere. I wanted to be a preacher’s wife, but life took me elsewhere. I wanted to be a professional singer of Christian songs, but life took me elsewhere. I wanted to be a Mommy and raise perfect children, but life gave me imperfect children and gave them an imperfect Mommy. I wanted to be thin, but those fat cells wouldn’t cooperate. I wanted to have a career, but that dream is still dead in the water! I wanted to be a hero but no one cared to be rescued. I wanted to be Miss America…well that didn’t happen and I can’t even be Mrs. America because I’m single again! I wanted to be a writer and have the rejection letters to prove it! I went back to college to prepare for a career when my children were still young, but I got sick and had that dream die as well. I wanted to be the best wife and help build my husband’s career….and did! I wanted to be the best at entertaining, and I did. I wanted to die, but that hasn’t happened yet. I wanted to build an empire, but the empire was destroyed. I wanted to build a house, and did, but someone stopped payments on it and I lost it. I wanted to be a queen but I had no empire left. I wanted to be a leader but instead I was led all over the world. I wanted to get a college degree…I have two of them but so what! I still can’t find a job. I wanted to quit but God wouldn’t let me. And through all my broken dreams and closed doors I have one faithful and amazing God that has given me more than I could have ever thought possible. He kept me sane!

Thanksgiving Day 009The Apostle Paul tells the Thessalonians that the Lord is faithful and those words were meant to be an encouragement to the church members of Thessalonica. They are a comfort to me as well:

“As for other matters, brothers and sisters, pray for us that the message of the Lord may spread rapidly and be honored, just as it was with you. And pray that we may be delivered from wicked and evil people, for not everyone has faith. But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one. We have confidence in the Lord that you are doing and will continue to do the things we command. May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance,” II Thessalonians 3:1-5, (New International Version or NIV).

I really draw comfort from this passage. For one thing, Paul felt the need of others to be praying for him. He was in need of prayers and that helps me to realize that I also need others to be praying for me. I pray for others as well and love to see how the Lord works in their lives in answering my prayers for them. But further into the passage, Paul reminds us that not all people are of the faith, not all people are good or have good intentions. However, God is always faithful and always works out the plan for our lives, works in our best interest to equip us for His good work. We are to persevere in Christ and share God’s love to everyone. Without Christ I can’t persevere but with Christ I can! Without God’s love I can’t love, not real love, but with God, I can!

DSCF6648Not only has God been faithful in my life at every event and through my entire journey but God has also protected me. I have written about some of His protection in the past. God has protected me from my own stupidity many times. God has protected me through several car accidents, when my two-year old was choking on an animal cracker, when that same child put a small bead up her nose, through tornadoes, floods, hurricanes, typhoons, and earthquakes and even political protesters bent upon getting their message across. God has protected me from evil actions that were directed toward me and my family and He has protected me from public humiliation. God also has protected me as I have been through many health crises and surgeries. He has been most faithful in His protection of not only me but my family as well. He is faithful and I can see the pattern of His faithfulness clearly imprinted and embedded into my journey. I am certain that when I get to heaven and all is revealed in my life that I will be shocked at all the things God has protected me from that I simply don’t even know about. God is faithful.

More October Sky 008First Corinthians chapter one verse nine says:

“God is faithful, who has called you into fellowship with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord,” (NIV).

I am one of the called so God has been faithful to me. You are one of the called, so I ask you, are you faithful to God? You are if you have answered His calling and are a follower of Christ! The way I understand the faithfulness of God is that if you don’t answer His calling then you can’t be a recipient of His faithfulness. It is that simple!

Something that is really cool about God is that His faithfulness is not just to my generation, oh no…look at what the book of Deuteronomy from the Old Testament says:

“Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commandments,” Deuteronomy 7:9, (NIV).

God has been faithful for thousands of generations! Wow! That is totally doubly wonderfully stupendously completely awesomeness!!!!! I can see far back into my own family genealogy the truth of God’s faithfulness. I am a Christian, my Mom, Grandma, Great-Grandma, Great-Great-Grandma, Great-Great-Great Grandma and on and on as far back as I know about my family were Christians. Oh how wonderful this legacy, but more importantly how wonderful that God has remained faithful to all generations. I hope my family continues from me forward to be Christians, followers of Christ.

DSCF6679Okay, reality check here! God is faithful but that doesn’t mean that life is easy or that I live on easy street! My life has been tough at times, down right hard-boiled stinking tough! I only shared a small portion of my list of broken dreams with you, believe me when I say there are many more. Can you identify with what I’m saying? I am sure most of you can. Even though my life has been tough, God’s faithfulness to me kept me going, kept me persevering and pushing through. I mean think about it, my parents and my sister and brother are deceased so they aren’t here to cheer me own and lend moral support. My husband left eight years ago so he’s not here to give a helping hand. My children grew up and all but one live in different states far from where I live. But God has remained in my life, silently working things out for me so that I am able to show love, mercy, and grace to every person I encounter. God has given me a young son to keep me company, for me to nurture, for me to pass on the love of Christ. God has not exited my life but still remains.

Yes, God is faithful. In sickness or in health God is faithful. Whether married or single, God is faithful. Employed or unemployed God is faithful. Sane or insane, God is faithful. Young or old, God is faithful. And when it comes my time to exit this earth, to die, I know that my God will be faithful even then. Even when I have not been faithful to God, He has been faithful to me. Thank you God, thank you Jesus, thank you Holy Spirit, thank you.DSCF6659

Happy New Year everyone.

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

