My Pet Sin Is Procrastination, What’s Yours?

Chinese From Adoption Trip and others 028Being single has made my one nemesis in life more prominent than ever…I am a procrastinator! When I was married I seemed to be a motivator and actually organized, but now that I am single again I have begun to procrastinate once more. To be honest I don’t really know if my problem stems from married vs single or whether it is just part of the aging process. Either way I find myself these days knowing what I should do but not getting it done in a timely fashion. Does anyone else have this problem? For instance, I started writing this post yesterday but procrastinated in getting it finished. I might not even finish this today, but I will try my best!

We all have our pet sins. Some people tell lies and justify it by saying that they didn’t want to tell the truth and hurt someone’s feelings. Someone else has a roving eye and can’t keep sex out of their mind. Still others cheat and think of it as just protecting themselves especially if they’re cheating the government out of taxes owed. While others stay super busy to run from their past or even the present, I procrastinate. It isn’t my only sin but it is probably the most active one. I love how Paul describes his sin (maybe it was the sin of procrastination) in Romans:

For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. I find then the principle that evil is present in me, the one who wants to do good,” Romans 7:19-21. (New American Standard Bible or NASB).

Oh Paul…..you nailed it! This is exactly how I feel about being a procrastinator. I don’t like being in such turmoil. I want to be organized, like I used to be. I want to go back to the days of making a list for everything to include cleaning the house or purchasing groceries, I want to be more organized and less apathetic. What’s the rest of Paul’s description? Let’s read on.

For I joyfully concur with the law of God in the inner man, but I see a different law in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand I myself with my mind am serving the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh the law of sin. Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death. Romans 7:22-25 & 8:1-2, (NASB).

Paul is describing the war that goes on between the mind and the body (flesh), you know the feeling, like when you want to do something good like lose weight, but instead of exercising you eat chocolate cake! I don’t know about you but I really can identify with the war that goes on between my body and my mind…far too often the body wins. Paul is also speaking about the differences between the Law of God of the Old Testament and the reason we don’t have to follow it any longer because Christ completed that Law. To be fair to this passage we need to read on a bit more.

For what the Law could not do, weak as it was through the flesh, God did: sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and as an offering for sin, He condemned sin in the flesh, so that the requirement of the Law might be fulfilled in us, who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. For those who are according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For the mind set on the flesh is death, but the mind set on the Spirit is life and peace, because the mind set on the flesh is hostile toward God; for it does not subject itself to the law of God, for it is not even able to do so, and those who are in the flesh cannot please God. However, you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. But if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Him. If Christ is in you, though the body is dead because of sin, yet the spirit is alive because of righteousness. But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you. Romans 8:3-11, (NASB).

We are not people of the flesh…worldly thinking…body. Rather we are people of the Spirit, that is if we have accepted Jesus Christ as our Lord, Master, and Savior. We no longer are under the Law because Christ fulfilled the Law and made it complete. We are walking in the Spirit and not the Law although as other passages of scripture point out the Law of God is what helps us know we need Jesus because it states what God requires of His people. Thankfully we no longer have our minds set on this world but on the things of God and that gives us peace with God, gives us a life filled with peace. But there’s more to study from this passage.

So then, brethren, we are under obligation, not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh—for if you are living according to the flesh, you must die; but if by the Spirit you are putting to death the deeds of the body, you will live. For all who are being led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. For you have not received a spirit of slavery leading to fear again, but you have received a spirit of adoption as sons by which we cry out, “Abba! Father!” The Spirit Himself testifies with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, heirs also, heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him so that we may also be glorified with Him. Romans 8:12-17, (NASB).

I just love this passage because Paul does such a great job explaining that those who follow Jesus, those who love and obey Jesus are no longer living in the body or flesh, rather we live in the Spirit. I think this means that our sins are no more; we are not to live as the world does, and we are not to be slaves to our sins. No! We are free from being a slave to the world’s way of thinking and doing. So for my pet sin of procrastination, I have a way to handle it…I am not a slave to it any longer. With the power that Christ has, that God has and that the Holy Spirit living inside of me has, I can conquer my sin of procrastination! What a relief this is for me. What a relief this must be for you also as a follower of Christ, your pet sin is set free and you are not a slave to it any longer! So press on brother…press on sister…press on in your life and change your attitude about your pet sin. You have the power within you thanks to God the giver of such power to overcome the sin…kick it out of you and press on toward victory!                                          Chinese From Adoption Trip and others 028

P.S. I finished without more procrastination! Woo Hoo!

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

