Are You Ready?

IMG_1989Life today is hectic for a lot of people. For me it goes rather slowly and often seems mundane. I spend most of my day scheduling around taking my son to school and picking him up from school, cooking him a good healthy breakfast and then cooking him a healthy supper. The in-between times I seem to occupy myself with a lot of writing and usually one favorite television program. Like I said, my day is pretty mundane but I like it that way. Whether your day is too full or too lax there is something we as Christians have in common, we are to be ready!

“Stay dressed for action and keep your lamps burning, and be like men who are waiting for their master to come home from the wedding feast, so that they may open the door to him at once when he comes and knocks. Blessed are those servants whom the master finds awake when he comes. Truly, I say to you, he will dress himself for service and have them recline at table, and he will come and serve them. If he comes in the second watch, or in the third, and finds them awake, blessed are those servants! But know this, that if the master of the house had known at what hour the thief was coming, he would not have left his house to be broken into. You also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.” Luke 12:35-40, (English Standard Version or ESV).

We are all wondering if we are living in the last days before Christ’s return. We seem to be living in an exciting time for prophecy to be fulfilled for sure. This is nothing new I imagine. I can remember my parents talking with my great-aunt and uncle in the mid-sixties about all the things that had taken place and they felt it was the last days. Actually for them it probably was because I am the only one left alive from that conversation. Which gets me back on point here, we Christians are to be ready for Jesus to return.

Flip Book 013The first words of Jesus are for us to stay dressed for action and to keep our lamps burning. Not many of us actually use lamps anymore to light our homes but we can still glean the idea here. We don’t want to be found in darkness because darkness always represents sinfulness. Rather we are to be in the light with our lamps well lite. Doesn’t that make you think of the children’s song, “This little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine!” Yes we need to be in the righteousness of the light which means that we need to continue to study God’s word to be ready for the day of Jesus return. By studying the Bible we learn what to obey and what is required of our life here on earth. We are also to be dressed for action and not found without proper clothing. I like this scripture that explains our clothing for spiritual battle.

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace. In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak. Ephesians 6:10-20, (ESV).

Did you know that you were in the midst of a cosmic battle? Keeping our lamps well lite now has a specific purpose as does being properly clothed. If we are clothed in the full armor of God then we will certainly be ready when our Master comes knocking on our door. If we are prepared for spiritual battle then we will be ready for anything that Satan can throw at us. We will also be ready for Christ’s return and only God the Father knows when that will be. We will be capable of being bold when necessary yet humble and we will be awake and alert even while our human bodies are sleeping at night. We will be praying all the time for strength to keep in the battle and for others to stay strong in the battle. Life is our battle and we will win the battle if we stay strong and in good light!

There is a warning in Luke 12 that we have overlooked so let’s go back a bit to Luke 12:29.

And do not seek what you are to eat and what you are to drink, nor be worried. For all the nations of the world seek after these things, and your Father knows that you need them. Instead, seek his kingdom, and these things will be added to you. “Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. Luke 12:29-31, (ESV).

While we are waiting for the Lord to return we are to not worry about our daily matters. Oh if we could just get this one thing right! We can’t take our possessions with us but we can share them on this earth to give others a chance at life. I live with too many things in my home and I will just about bet that most if not all that read this have the same problem. We need to find people who need our possessions and share them because that is why we have been given so much!

May Flowers 055I am preaching to me here because I have a hard time letting it go sometimes. Yet other times I just want to have a big sale and unload all my worldly possessions. I imagine my children hope that I follow through on letting it all go before I die because they don’t need to be burdened with cleaning up my mess! I am learning to let it go and I am thankful that God has given me such insight as to why I collected it all in the first place! Maybe you struggle in this area as well. Trust God to provide what you need when you need it and let the fluff all go! I’m tired of dusting it all anyway! Know what I’m saying here?

Why does Jesus say to sell our possessions and give the money to the needy? Because Jesus wants our hearts to be right and our treasure to be Him! If we are chasing after all the worldly things like wealth, status, titles, degrees, cars, houses, and lands then we are not chasing after Jesus and our hearts are not where they should be. It is so easy to get distracted from Jesus these days. In truth I imagine every generation has struggled with that. We need to be ready to go at a moment’s notice! Are you ready?Back to School and other stuff 017

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

