Little Robin

May Flowers 035I have a young robin that seems to feel very safe and secure on my back patio.  This little guy has been a joy to watch, well mostly!  I am surprised that one little bird can create such a mess.  There isn’t one piece of lawn furniture that has escaped from being pooped on!  Even the steps going out the patio door to the patio have been initiated by this little bird.  Still I find joy in watching the little critter.  I see the Mommy bird trying to coax her little DSCF7180 (2)cherub to fly and I see the little robin talk back to the Mommy bird.  I have to laugh because it reminds me of a teenager and a mother having one of those argumentative moments.  The Mommy bird usually fly’s away quickly and I have noticed that she is watching over another little bird that is learning to fly.  Oh how precious this front row seat has been for me to see one of God’s little creatures up close.  As I watch this family of Robins it reminds me that God cares about all of His creation as much as He cares about me.  In fact the Bible talks about God’s compassion for the needs of creation.

“No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and wealth.  “For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  “Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they?  Matthew 6:24-26. (New American Standard Bible or NASB).

“So is the man who stores up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.”  And He said to His disciples, “For this reason I say to you, do not worry about your life, as to what you will eat; nor for your body, as to what you will put on.  “For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing.  “Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap; they have no storeroom nor barn, and yet God feeds them; how much more valuable you are than the birds! Luke 12:21-24, (NASB).

In both of these scriptures Jesus is teaching the disciples to not worry about where the money will come from for the daily needs that arise such as food and clothing.  He reminds them that God knows our needs and will supply them to us just as He supplies the needs for all the birds.  May Flowers 037If we continue to worry about amassing wealth then we are not serving God and instead we are serving money.  Birds don’t worry about money, they just trust that God will supply their needs daily.  God cares deeply about all He has created but He cares even more for human beings.  I don’t know about you but I find this comforting and reassuring.  There are some other scriptures I want us to see.

He sends forth springs in the valleys; They flow between the mountains; They give drink to every beast of the field; The wild donkeys quench their thirst. Beside them the birds of the heavens dwell; They lift up their voices among the branches.  He waters the mountains from His upper chambers; The earth is satisfied with the fruit of His works.  He causes the grass to grow for the cattle, And vegetation for the labor of man, So that he may bring forth food from the earth, And wine which makes man’s heart glad, So that he may make his face glisten with oil,  And food which sustains man’s heart. The trees of the LORD drink their fill, The cedars of Lebanon which He planted, Where the birds build their nests, And the stork, whose home is the fir trees.  The high mountains are for the wild goats; The cliffs are a refuge for the shephanim.  He made the moon for the seasons; The sun knows the place of its setting.  You appoint darkness and it becomes night, In which all the beasts of the forest prowl about.  The young lions roar after their prey And seek their food from God.  When the sun rises they withdraw And lie down in their dens.  Psalm 104:10-22, (NASB).

God is more involved in our work than many realize and this section of scripture really tells us a lot of information about God.  God controls the waters and sends them to the sea through rivers.  God does this so the wild animals have water to drink to survive.  018God also makes the grass and vegetation grow to not only feed the animals but also to give farmers and ranchers a job.  By harvesting the grasses or hay from a meadow the cattle and horses will have food throughout the winter months when it snows in Nebraska.  Even the sun obeys God and rises and sets at the appropriate times.  I don’t know about you but I have never seen the sun rise at midnight or set at noon!  We don’t often think about the fact that all of creation obeys and even praises our God, but they do!

Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, And Your dominion endures throughout all generations.  The LORD sustains all who fall And raises up all who are bowed down.  The eyes of all look to You, And You give them their food in due time.  You open Your hand And satisfy the desire of every living thing.  The LORD is righteous in all His ways And kind in all His deeds.  Psalm 145:13-17, (NASB).

I just love this passage from Psalms.  God’s kingdom is established and is everlasting.  God can be trusted by me because of all the generations that have gone before me and all the generations that will follow me.  No other god has such a long and enduring record of trust!  God satisfies all of creation, it is only humans that fight God and try to ignore the truth of His existence.  Humans worship the wrong thing when they place science before an everlasting and kind God!

60th birthday 009Baby Birds 001

I see the kindness of God every spring when I watch the baby robins grow to fly away.  Every year my patio furniture is covered by bird droppings and yet I don’t really mind.  A little soap and water will clean it off or if I am lazy it disappears when it rains!  The reason I don’t mind is because the cycle of life continues in nature as it does in my life and I see God in everything.  I see how God cares for the robins.  I see how God cares for the flowers that bloom such beauty that I often find myself in awe at the various details.  Even many 60th birthday 010May Flowers 038of the weeds are beautiful.  I see all of creation praising God, from the bunny that eats my grass to the robin that eats my worms to the geese that fly over every fall to the cranes that flock to the river every fall to the sunshine and the seasons and in everything around me.  It makes me want to praise God too because of all of His loving kindness to everyone and everything He has created.  It makes me sad when humans are blinded by their sin and refuse to give God all glory and praise.  I wish they would learn from my little friend the robin!

Until next time…KatherineDSCF7181 (2)

Leave a Reply

