I’m Tired

DSCF7233I am tired.  I am physically, emotionally, and spiritually exhausted.  Have you ever felt that way?  I’m sure that you have.  It happens to me every year when school begins.  You see I am one of those rare people who actually loves having my children home in the summertime.  I remember when there were three still at home and the house was seldom quiet.  Now days, though there is only one left at home and he is very quiet.  He likes to play video games, draw, and read.  He was excited to have school begin just as his sisters were years before him.  I guess that life at home is boring for him just as it was for his siblings when they were all at home.  But for me it always makes me happy when school gets out for the summer and I feel a little sad when school begins again.  Maybe this is part of why I feel so tired right now.

DSCF7254There’s another reason I may be feeling tired and that’s the changing of seasons that is beginning.  The nights are colder and the days are beginning to shorten.  I love to open the windows and air out the house during the seasonal changes because it makes everything smell so fresh.  But there is a downside to that for me because I suffer from lots of seasonal allergies.  I usually have to take more allergy medication during this time of the year and that probably contributes to my feeling of tiredness.  Allergies have been a life long struggle for me and I suppose that they always will be.  It just makes you not want to do anything when you feel so tired.

November 018I am tired for another reason too.  I am tired of seeing the secret sins of people revealed.  It seems the older I get the more I find out about people I love and respect and have admired for years.  I find out that they are not as solid in Christ or as firmly rooted as I thought them to be.  I find out that they are human and make mistakes and sometimes those mistakes are big and painful and difficult to fathom.  I’m tired of the spiritual battle and weary of the outcome looking like Satan is winning.  I know that God wins in the end, but I am tired of waiting for that futuristic victory.  I want to see the good guys lifted up and winning for a change.  I want to see long overdue answers to my prayers…well at least I think they are overdue but God’s timetable isn’t matching up with mine.  Yes I’m tired of seeing people sinning.

November 025I am tired of seeing our society falling further and further from the Christian principles that built this nation.  I am tired of seeing Christians hated because we are followers of Christ and not of the world.  Oh I knew it would happen because Jesus told us it would happen but it still makes me tired of seeing it play out on the world stage.  I’m tired of seeing our political leaders slinging insulting catch-phrases just to grab some media attention.  I’m tired of the media reporting on the things that really don’t matter all that much to me.  I want to see real solutions to the real problems and not attention-getting barbs that everyone knows won’t work anyway.  Yes I’m rather tired of our society these days.

End of summer 013I’m tired of terrorists. It seems that ever since I was born my generation has dealt with terrorists.  Home grown terrorists were the norm when I was in high school back in the late sixties and early seventies.  Riots and police killings were an everyday occurrence then just as they seem to be now.  I’m tired of the violence and the anger that fuels such hatred and violence.  I’m tired of the men and women who think that killing mass numbers of innocent people is cool.  It isn’t cool, it is horrible and yet we have news stories every day concerning such deeds.

Nov 2009 040I’m tired of angry people.  Anger is a good emotion if used and dealt with properly but so many today haven’t got a clue how to control their anger.  Anger is contagious too, especially when the younger generation is observing their elders having an angry outburst.  Why are we such an angry culture?  I mean really people, you have it better than any generation before you and yet you are angry that you are here?  Are you angry that you were even born?  I just don’t understand all this anger that rages in so many people today.

June 2009 035I’m tired of pseudo-Christians.  You know what I’m talking about, those people who pretend to love God and Jesus but never do a simple thing for another human being unless they are forced to.  I’m tired of those who think that they can play-act and socialize their way to heaven.  I’m tired of immaturity among Christians also.  Get some meat on them there bones people and stop being an emotional experience only kind of Christian.  You don’t see that taught in the Bible!  You see trust and obey taught and not make up your own rules as you go!

HPIM0566So what am I going to do about this tiredness that I am experiencing right now?  Well, first of all I have to recognize that I am guilty of most of what I’m tired of and so I need to work on changing what needs to be changed and water what has already begun to grow in my spiritual walk with our Lord.  How will I do this?

So put away all malice and all deceit and hypocrisy and envy and all slander.  Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk, that by it you may grow up into salvation— if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is good.  As you come to him, a living stone rejected by men but in the sight of God chosen and precious, you yourselves like living stones are being built up as a spiritual house, to be a holy priesthood, to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. 1 Peter 2:1-5, (English Standard Version or ESV).

I need to get back to the basics and clean up my own life.  I need to do an evaluation of my own life walk with Christ.  Am I malicious?  Am I deceitful to others or deceiving myself?  Am I being a hypocrite?  If I am then these behaviors are hindering me in tasting God’s goodness.  Then what?

Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your soul.  Keep your conduct among the Gentiles honorable, so that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day of visitation.  Be subject for the Lord’s sake to every human institution, whether it be to the emperor as supreme, or to governors as sent by him to punish those who do evil and to praise those who do good.  For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people.  Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God.  Honor everyone. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the emperor.  1 Peter 2:11-17, (ESV).

Peter lays it all out for us.  I need to stay away from the things in this world that make war against me.  For each one of us that will be a different list.  For me it means that I need to exercise and eat a healthier diet and get my energy level up to a higher standard.  I will be honest with you all, I dislike exercise, eating healthy involves eating fish and I greatly dislike fish.  But I know that this is what I need to do and so I need to take those baby steps to get going.  Notice what the will of God is…For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people.  Well that is really not all that difficult to do now is it?  I mean there are a lot of foolish people in this world but if we obey the will of God then we get along with them and we do this by obeying our countries laws and doing good deeds.  I can do that and so can you!  Right?

Until next time…KatherineEnd of summer 031

Leave a Reply

