Little Princess

I have a granddaughter that is soon to be four years old and she is an absolute delight to be around.  She really loves to be a princess or a queen and sometimes she tells me that her name is Your Majesty.  I also have a pair of chairs in my living room that she calls the King and Queen chairs and she will sit with a metal child sized tea-cup on her head as her crown and will conduct court.  Her Daddy is in the King’s Chair and has a matching child sized tea-cup on his head also.  We have tea together, that she makes with her tea set and serves to me before she sits in the Queen’s chair.  She has a great imagination and really gets into her Princess mode!  I told her that I was having royal tea because the Queen made it for me and my twelve year-old son said that was funny because drinking royal tea made me royalty!  It is such a precious time in my little Princesses life, one that reminds me of how time has flown by all too quickly since the time her Mama was the Princess serving tea.  It also reminds me that there is hope in this world because two generations after me there will be a Princess to follow in my footsteps.  You see, I believe that all Christian women and girls are God’s Princesses and we are special to God and He takes good care of us.  God has certainly taken good care of me, that’s for sure!  Why do I believe that I am a Princess?  You see I am a follower of Jesus and Jesus is the King and my brother since I am God’s child and Jesus is God’s Son, which makes me a member of God’s royal household, thus I am a Princess of God.  So what does the Bible say about Princesses?  A lot!

My heart is stirred by a noble theme as I recite my verses for the king; my tongue is the pen of a skillful writer.  You are the most excellent of men and your lips have been anointed with grace, since God has blessed you forever.  Gird your sword on your side, you mighty one; clothe yourself with splendor and majesty.  In your majesty ride forth victoriously in the cause of truth, humility and justice; let your right hand achieve awesome deeds.  Let your sharp arrows pierce the hearts of the king’s enemies; let the nations fall beneath your feet.

Your throne, O God, will last for ever and ever; a scepter of justice will be the scepter of your kingdom.  You love righteousness and hate wickedness; therefore God, your God, has set you above your companions by anointing you with the oil of joy.  All your robes are fragrant with myrrh and aloes and cassia; from palaces adorned with ivory the music of the strings makes you glad.

Daughters of kings are among your honored women; at your right hand is the royal bride in gold of Ophir.  Listen, daughter, and pay careful attention: Forget your people and your father’s house.  Let the king be enthralled by your beauty; honor him, for he is your lord.  The city of Tyre will come with a gift, people of wealth will seek your favor.  All glorious is the princess within her chamber; her gown is interwoven with gold.  In embroidered garments she is led to the king; her virgin companions follow her—those brought to be with her.  Led in with joy and gladness, they enter the palace of the king.

Your sons will take the place of your fathers; you will make them princes throughout the land.  I will perpetuate your memory through all generations; therefore the nations will praise you for ever and ever.  Psalm 45:1-17, (New International Version or NIV).

First of all I am a Princess of the God who blesses me forever and I know that this is true because I have eternal life in His presence.  That is a marvelous blessing.  This makes me special just as every Christian is special.  We are certainly blessed in not only this life but the next.  I long to be in the presence of my Lord, don’t you?  What a blessing that will be!  But there is more.  Our God is very majestic and stronger than anyone or anything!  We can be assured that God has the power to protect us and guide us and help us not only in this life but throughout eternity.  How awesome that is to wrap our heads and hearts around!  God is also righteous and that is another astounding fact to consider.  As long as there are Christians in this world there will be righteousness because we have a righteous God!  He is a God of justice as well and also speaks only truth.  We can be sure that our royal family is a good and safe place to reside.  But what does the Bible say about the King’s daughters?

We are honored women as the King’s daughter.  Sometimes I don’t feel like I am honored and I’m sure you all have times when you also feel that way but the truth is we are honored in our role as a Princess of God’s.  Sometimes our honor is delayed until judgement but we will be honored.  I think of the scripture that states God will anoint Christians at a banquet where our enemies will see how honored we are (Psalm 23:5).  Our honor will come so don’t give up!  While we wait we are to continue to honor God and to be an example to those around us of how valued we are in the Kingdom of God.  A price was paid for us when Jesus gave His life for us and this makes us valuable.  We are beautiful and we need to remember that as well.  God doesn’t make any mistakes and when He created us He made something beautiful!  We are dressed in the glory of God just as the daughters of the earthly kings are dressed in gold threads.  That is something to really take some time to consider.  Remember how God tells us not to worry about clothes and houses and cars because He knows what we need and provides it for us just as He does for the Lilies of the Valley who were clothed in greater splendor than King Solomon (Matthew 6:28-30).    Also we are not alone because we have many brothers and sisters in Christ!  That is pretty awesome too.  And finally we can be filled with joy and gladness because we are a part of God’s royal family, never alone, never on our own in this world but always with the family of God around us!  I love that!

There is also a wonderful story of a true Princess of God in the story of Esther.  She was a little orphan girl who was chosen to be a King’s wife and Queen.  She never dreamed as a young girl that she would one day fill such an important role but she obeyed God and her uncle Mordecai and became the one who saved her people from death.  She was nothing and then became something and then did something great!  Did she do this all on her own?  No, she was blessed by God and He provided the right people at the right time for her to do the right thing.  I believe that God does this in our own lives today.  Go and read the book of Esther in the Old Testament, it won’t take long but you will certainly have insight to how God cares for His own.

This world may not care that I am a Princess.  In fact most people in this world don’t know me nor do they care to, but God cares.  I don’t have to be rich or famous to get noticed by God.  I like that about Him.  He sees everything with a perspective that is always righteous, always filled with justice, always with majesty and grace and joy!  God hates wickedness and evil and I am so glad that He does.  I would hate to think that evil wins in the end.  Jesus said that He goes to prepare a place for us (John 14:3) and it is in His Father’s house (Acts 7:55, Roman 8:34), our heavenly home awaits where we shall live forever as a Princess of God!  Her Majesty, My granddaughter, has the right idea, we women are princesses and Christian men are princes.  I love that!

Until next time…Katherine 

Leave a Reply

