Aging Is Godly

I have been watching television this afternoon and I am really struck by all the commercials focusing on how to become younger looking, younger feeling, and younger thinking!  I have always believed in looking as good as I can.  For instance I wear makeup when I go shopping, to work, to church, etc.  I watch what I eat, although I probably don’t do as well in this area as I should.  I know that I should exercise and go through times when I do and times when I don’t exercise.  I read to keep up on current things and watch a variety of television programs to keep myself educated on the topics of the day.  I engage in conversation whenever I get the chance.  But a few years ago I stopped coloring my hair because I realized two things.  First I was spending money that I needed to use elsewhere and secondly I got tired of people thinking I was younger than I really am.  I know that sounds exaggerated but it is the truth.  I felt that since I was not trying to attract a husband it was time to stop coloring my hair so people would realize that I was not a threat to anyone’s husband!  I think it was about this time in my life that I also realized that the world thinks way too much about looking and acting younger than most of us really are.  Why?  According to the commercials I have seen today for how to make your chin and neck look younger, how to make your sex life like it was when you were in your twenties, how to cover age spots, how to feel and think younger all you have to do is a little nip and tuck  surgery or take this pill or that pill, and on and on and on.  Dear Christian, do you realize what message is really being conveyed in all of those commercials?  If you do all these things and buy all these products you can cheat death.  The world doesn’t want us to look into the mirror and realize that our eventual death is coming and that we need to get serious about where we will be spending eternity.  But death comes to us all and so does aging and it is not a bad thing.

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, Ecclesiastes 3:1-2, (New International Version or NIV).

Now the truth is that we all know this.  We all know that we will die one day.  It has been a part of the human condition ever since Adam and Eve were turned out of the Garden of Eden.  It is something that we all know because we see family and friends and strangers die every day.  But knowing something is far different from accepting that fact.  I think most people are really afraid of dying and that is why they try so hard to look younger and try to live longer.  Christians should not follow the world thinking in this area or in any other area of our life; instead we should be leading the way in helping those who fear death to the light of Jesus and the truth of eternal life with Jesus.

For none of us lives for ourselves alone, and none of us dies for ourselves alone.  If we live, we live for the Lord; and if we die, we die for the Lord. So, whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord.  For this very reason, Christ died and returned to life so that he might be the Lord of both the dead and the living.  Romans 14:7-9, (NIV).

We have the answer to real and everlasting eternal life.  We know where we are going after death in this life.  We have the hope of Jesus!  I saw a meme recently that had a saying worth repeating.  Death is just a change of address, but what you believe will determine what neighborhood you end up in.  Now that is truth in a way we can all understand, don’t you think?  We will either be in heaven or we will be in hell.  I don’t know about you but I prefer heaven over hell.  But this is a truth that the world also doesn’t recognize as truth.  So many people think that after they die they will be good enough to be in heaven or they will be bad enough to be in hell and plan to party with their friends there.  However, that is not what hell will be like, it isn’t one big party, it is torture and pain and sorrow.

Then Jesus went through the towns and villages, teaching as he made his way to Jerusalem. Someone asked him, “Lord, are only a few people going to be saved?”

He said to them, “Make every effort to enter through the narrow door, because many, I tell you, will try to enter and will not be able to.  Once the owner of the house gets up and closes the door, you will stand outside knocking and pleading, ‘Sir, open the door for us.’  “But he will answer, ‘I don’t know you or where you come from.’  “Then you will say, ‘We ate and drank with you, and you taught in our streets.’  “But he will reply, ‘I don’t know you or where you come from. Away from me, all you evildoers!’

“There will be weeping there, and gnashing of teeth, when you see Abraham, Isaac and Jacob and all the prophets in the kingdom of God, but you yourselves thrown out.  People will come from east and west and north and south, and will take their places at the feast in the kingdom of God.  Indeed there are those who are last who will be first, and first who will be last.”  Luke 13:22-30, (NIV).

Hell isn’t a fantasy it is a real place where many people will go after death.  It is a horrid place because any place where God is not will be a cold, dark, evil, and frightening place.  Check out Matthew 25:30 and Matthew 8:12 and Matthew 24:51 as well as Revelations 21:8 for more information on what Hell will be like.  I don’t think it is going to be a fun party!  Dear Christians, we need not fear death because we are walking in the light!

But you, brothers and sisters, are not in darkness so that this day should surprise you like a thief.  You are all children of the light and children of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness.  So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be awake and sober.  For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night.  But since we belong to the day, let us be sober, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet.  For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ.  He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him.  Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.  1 Thessalonians 5:4-11, (NIV).

So since we no longer walk in darkness we don’t need to fear dying.  Does that mean that we can stop buying all those products that tell us we need to look younger and feel younger and smell younger and on and on?  Well, that is really your personal choice but when you stop and think of all the money we spend on such products I think we need to count the cost.  I have found that I prefer to spend money on things that will last such as missions and needs I see others around me having.  Remember what is done for God will last!

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

