My Favorite Things

One of my favorite things to do only happens once a year, usually about now.  I love to smell the beautiful fragrance of a lilac bush in full bloom!  Someone who lived in my house before me planted two lilac bushes just a little to the left of my bedroom window.  I think it was God’s graciousness that prompted them to plant them just so I can enjoy them!  Okay, maybe that is going a little too far, but I sure am enjoying them right now.  Nothing is better than to walk down the hallway to my bedroom and smell the light and lovely scent drifting on the breeze from my open windows of the lilacs.  I find myself often standing in front of the open window sniffing with delight as I take a few moments to just breathe in the beautiful fragrance.  For me it is a little slice of heaven, but for my son it causes an allergy reaction and he begins to sneeze something terrible.  I am so glad that he isn’t here in the daytime so I can enjoy the opened window while he is at school.  Life is good when the lilacs are in bloom!

All the commandments that I am commanding you today you shall be careful to do, that you may live and multiply, and go in and possess the land which the LORD swore to give to your forefathers.  You shall remember all the way which the LORD your God has led you in the wilderness these forty years, that He might humble you, testing you, to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not.  “He humbled you and let you be hungry, and fed you with manna which you did not know, nor did your fathers know, that He might make you understand that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by everything that proceeds out of the mouth of the LORD.  Deuteronomy 8:1-3, (New American Standard Bible or NASB).

Another of my favorite things is toast.  I know that Jesus quoted this scripture to Satan when Satan tried to tempt Jesus after He had fasted for forty days (Matthew 4:4).  However, I think sometimes that I could live on toast and butter and perhaps some jam as long as I am also having a little coffee or tea.  I love toast.  I like to use the good bread for toasting, the kind that has something like seven grains or perhaps sourdough, or maybe that bread that has nuts and raisins in it.  I don’t really care for the cheap white loaf of sandwich bread but if that is all that is available to me then I will toast it and butter it and put a little honey on it and enjoy!   That is my idea of a good breakfast!  But Jesus is right; I need a little more than bread because toast without butter is rather scratchy and dry to swallow!  Yes, I like toast.

Sing to the LORD a new song; Sing to the LORD, all the earth.  Sing to the LORD, bless His name; Proclaim good tidings of His salvation from day to day.  Psalm 96:1-2, (NASB).

I love to sing.  I love to play the piano.  I love to write songs.  I love to play what I call piano doodle where I just play whatever song is in my heart.  I also love to hear others sing and listen to the radio while driving.  I love to hear songs that are sung in different languages.  One of my most favorite memories is being in a church in Hong Kong and hearing God praised in three different languages through song.  I love to hear God’s creation sing too.  So often I think of the songs various birds sing and I wonder if they are singing their praise to God.  I even love to watch snowflakes coming down silently and often think that they are singing their praise to God through silence, so peaceful and so beautiful and as lovely as any song!  Yes, I love to sing.

  She looks for wool and flax and works with her hands in delight.  Proverbs 31:13, (NASB).

I love to make things.  I love sewing anything but clothes.  For instance right now I am in the middle of a marathon of making baby quilts for some of the missions I work with.  It is such fun to plan and create a cute little blanket for a baby yet unborn!  Just love it!  I also love knitting and crocheting blankets, hats, and scarves.  I am not really all that good at crafting but I do enjoy doing these projects.  I also love to embroider and have done much of that in the past.  To me giving a gift to someone that I have hand crafted is like giving a part of me to them.  We can go to the store and buy something that will be pretty and functional but it won’t have any emotions attached to it, but when you hand make a gift, it is often greatly appreciated so much more because it speaks the language of love.

How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, Nor stand in the path of sinners, Nor sit in the seat of scoffers!  But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night.  He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, Which yields its fruit in its season And its leaf does not wither; And in whatever he does, he prospers.  Psalm 1:1-3, (NASB).

I love to study God’s Word.  I love to reach into the sentences and pull out the deeper meanings and to learn from the examples that are written in the Bible.  I love to learn from others as we share our thinking in Sunday School or Bible Study groups.  I love to read books written by people so much smarter than I am and learn from their perspective of what the Bible says.  I love to hear good preaching and teaching.  I love to be challenged to think and to learn.  I love God and the rich history told in the Bible.  I love to put into action what I have learned and I try to live as a good example, a good ambassador for God, to anyone watching my life.  I love the soothing ointment the words of the Bible give to my hurting soul.  I love to write about the things I am learning and to share my thoughts with others, with you.  I hope you enjoy my meanderings through words as well.

Grandchildren are the crown of old men, and the glory of sons is their fathers.  Proverbs 17:6, (NASB).

I love my children and in-law children and grandchild!  It is not always easy to love our children as adults because they grow into their own person and they don’t always think the way that we do.  I have struggled in how to continue to let my children all know that I love them even though they may live many miles away and it isn’t easy to just pop over and take them out to lunch!  But I do deeply love them and I love my little granddaughter too!  She is such a delight.  I may not be the best grandma in that I don’t give her lots of presents and stuff but I pray for her and will continue to just as I do for all my children every day!  They are such a blessing to me and I love to get together with them and just sit back and watch the show they all put on!  Such fun!!!  Family is definitely one of my favorite things!

Well this is a small list of some of my favorite things in life on this big earth!  I hope it will inspire you to slow down and take a moment to think of what your favorite things are also.  Have a wonderful day.

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

