Feeling Too Much Negativity?  Turn It To A Positive!

I don’t know about you but I think that today in America and probably other countries as well, there is far too much negativity in the news.  I realize that we need to know what is going on in the world but do we have to hear all the negatives as if they outweigh the positive.   Maybe I am naïve but I sometimes think that the best thing we can do is turn off television and social media and go read a good book or take a walk or go visit someone.  I found a negative turned to a positive Psalm to share and I love the message of this Psalm.

Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.  Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord does not count against them and in whose spirit is no deceit.  When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long.  For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer.  Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity.  I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.”  And you forgave the guilt of my sin.  Therefore let all the faithful pray to you while you may be found; surely the rising of the mighty waters will not reach them.  You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.  I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.  Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you.  Many are the woes of the wicked, but the Lord’s unfailing love surrounds the one who trusts in him.  Rejoice in the Lord and be glad, you righteous; sing, all you who are upright in heart.  Psalm 32:1-11, (New International Version or NIV).

This is so true.  When we sin and don’t ask for forgiveness it affects our health.  Have you ever thought about sin in that way?  When we, as Christians, sin, we feel guilty and uncomfortable and just like David says, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer.  This is the best description of how we feel when we have something unresolved with God.  It may be that you hurt someone with your words and you know that you crushed their spirit; you need to ask them and God to forgive you.  A negative into a positive is so important for growth as Christians.  I know this is true because I have had unresolved problems, sins, and I needed to take it all to God and lay it all before Him in prayer.  Sometimes I am unsure if I have sinned or am just grieving over someone else’s sins but either way I take it to God in prayer and boy do I feel better afterward.  What a blessing it is to be a Christian.  I often wonder how people who don’t want to believe there is a God handle life.  Maybe that is why we have so many addictions to alcohol, drugs, and sex.  I do feel blessed and I do run to God for everything, for protection, for comfort, and for provision.  God has never let me down but that doesn’t mean that I always get what I think that I need and yet I can always trust that God will do what is best for me.  How do I know this?  Because it is a promise from God.

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.  And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.  And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.  For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.  And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.  Romans 8:26-30, (NIV).

Do you see how God is constantly working for what is good for you and for me and for every Christian?  The Holy Spirit resides inside us and goes with us everywhere we go and knows us better than we know ourselves.  The Holy Spirit prays for what we need even when we don’t know what to pray for or what we need.  God listens to the Holy Spirit and does what the Holy Spirit asks on our behalf.  I love that!  If I am in need of discipline then the Holy Spirit alerts God to my need.  If I need comfort the Holy Spirit alerts God to that need.  If I need to get over an illness the Holy Spirit alerts God to that need.  Before I even know sometimes what I need God has already been alerted to my need and is working to answer that need in my best interest.  Wow!  Just Wow!!!  We Christians are so blessed!  We have a wonderful and loving God watching over our every need.  I love that!  We are never out of His almighty sight.  We hide in His protection.  We have problems that God takes care of but the person who is without God does not have such a promise.  This promise is only for Christians.  Maybe it is time you became a Christian, dear one who is reading this and not yet surrendered to God.  Jesus tells us that His burdens are much easier to bear than the world’s burdens.

At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children.  Yes, Father, for this is what you were pleased to do.  “All things have been committed to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11:25-30, (NIV).

Jesus has lightened the burdens for all who come to Him, no longer do we have to follow hundreds and hundreds of rules like the Jewish nation had to.  But the world is also filled with many burdens.  Sin looks so good at first, but there is always a price to be paid.  Want more sex?  It will cost you more than you can ever think of over time.  Want more money?  It will consume you and you will become a slave to it.  Want to be selfish?  It will cost you in ways you haven’t even begun to think about.  Want to escape through an addiction?  It will cost you your good health and possibly your life.  The burdens of Jesus are light and not at all hard to achieve because we have the Holy Spirit to help us and that is the greatest thing ever!  I hope that you have turned the negative things in your life into a positive!

Until next time…Katherine

 

Leave a Reply

