Tea, Scones, And Jesus

One of my favorite things to do is have homemade scones with hot tea.  I have a teapot collection that would make your eyes pop out!  I didn’t choose to start collecting teapots but my family and friends knew that I love hot tea and the collection sort of grew.  Over the years I have gotten rid of some of the pots because I just don’t need all of them but I have also kept some of my favorites.  I was blessed to be able to travel in England and Scotland and Wales and one of my highlights from these trips is stopping for a cupper.  I have my favorite brands of teas but mostly I love all kinds, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Indian, and of course good old-fashioned British and American brands.  To me it is pure delight to sit down and drink a nice hot cup of tea and eat a scone or two.  I also like to make breads sometimes as well.  So today I want to share with you a couple of my favorite recipes and maybe we can talk about Jesus too.

There are so many variations to making scones but the original scone recipe is more like an American biscuit than a pastry.  In fact when I make my scones I use an American biscuit recipe and then embellish on it.  My favorite biscuit recipe is handed down from mother to daughter for generations and comes off the Clabber Girl Baking Powder can.  Here’s the recipe.

 

This recipe was found in a cookbook entitled Clabber Girl Baking Book dated 1934.  And what do you know but there is an advertisement for Clabber Girl Baking Powder, a 10 ounce can only cost 10 cents!  I found this among my Mom’s cook books and I just love it!

Here is how I make my scones based somewhat on the biscuit recipe.

Katherine’s Scone Recipe – preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

2 cups sifted flour, usually I use wheat for baking flour, oat flour, or all-purpose flour, 3 teaspoons baking powder, pinch of salt, 1-2 tablespoons sugar, 1-2 teaspoons cinnamon, one-third cup olive oil, two-thirds cup liquid, half a cup raisins or chocolate chips.

Sift dry ingredients together and mix in oil and with a pastry blender cut oil into flour mixture until crumbly.  Add liquid which can be milk, almond milk, soy milk, room temperature flavored tea, or coffee.  Earl Grey tea works really well and gives great flavor.  Add raisins or chocolate chips and form somewhat of a sticky dough.  Place on a pizza pan you have prepared by spraying with cooking spray and form a circle about three-fourth-inch thick.  I usually sprinkle a little sugar on top to help pat into a circle without the dough sticking to my hands.  Take a knife and cut half-way through the wet dough like a pie or pizza and then put into the oven for about fifteen to twenty minutes.  The scones will be brown but not burnt and a toothpick inserted toward the center will come out with only one or two crumbs to show doneness.  Slice into wedges by using the indented lines on top.  Serve warm with butter, jams, jellies, or flavored butters.  You can also roll the dough onto a floured surface and cut like biscuits if you prefer it is your choice on how you do this.

Now for some Jesus time.  We are all busy people these days but to stop and spend a little time together with others is important.  I am trying to remember that myself so this is a message for me as well as for you.  Why not have some tea and scones as a way to show each other we care.

Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters.  Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.  Hebrews 13:1-2, (New International Version or NIV).

The end of all things is near. Therefore be alert and of sober mind so that you may pray.  Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.  Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.  Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.  1 Peter 4:7-10, (NIV).

Dear friend, you are faithful in what you are doing for the brothers and sisters, even though they are strangers to you.  They have told the church about your love. Please send them on their way in a manner that honors God.  It was for the sake of the Name that they went out, receiving no help from the pagans.  We ought therefore to show hospitality to such people so that we may work together for the truth.  3 John 1:5-8, (NIV).

Hospitality is a lost art it seems but one that we are encouraged to continue regardless of our cultural practices.  Some people have a gift of hospitality and how I enjoy spending time with them, don’t you?  Back to baking.  I mentioned bread a little while ago.  I don’t mean bread for sandwiches; rather I mean dessert bread or quick breads.  There are so many recipes out there for this type of bread but one I enjoy is Peanut Butter Bread.  I really like this because it is quick and easy and tastes good. You can substitute whatever flour you prefer to use.  I like to stay away from white flour so I often use wheat or the wheat for baking flour.   Here’s the recipe.

With all the good bakery breads these days you could simply buy a loaf of fancy bread and serve it with your tea.  The traditional tea time in England will have choices between High Tea which includes little pastries and fruit tarts as well as scones or Farmer’s Tea which will have a delicious sample of various breads often wheat based and with raisins and nuts inside.  Either way is good.  Now as to tea, the world has many to offer so why not go out and try something new and enjoy a little fellowship with your neighbors and have a little tea party.  Invite me over, I would love to come.

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

