The Ten-Year Check-up!

Well it has been nearly ten years since I was last seen for a good health check-up so I decided it was about time to go in to see a doctor.  I don’t really like going to the doctor and so I don’t unless I have to.  This time, I really wasn’t feeling ill but tired a lot and thought that since I have some dastardly diseases in the family I should go and get a good check-up.  No diabetes, which is a miracle considering my Mom, Dad, Grandparents, and sister all had diabetes.  No heart problems, which is a miracle since all of the above said people had that too.  Cholesterol normal except for the triglycerides which are high but not high enough for medication, they are the bad cholesterol, which is weird because the overall cholesterol was normal.  Maybe it is because I was on vacation last week and ate foods I don’t normally eat like lunch meat, chips, ice cream and stuff that are full of triglycerides!  My liver checked out in fine shape which is also a miracle since I have had a fatty liver and problems with it for most of my life.  My thyroid is normal which is also good since my Mom and sister had problems with theirs.  I don’t have any fibromyalgia or arthritis either like my Mom and sister had.  In other words about the only thing that is wrong with me is that I am too fat and too lazy to do any exercises.  I guess I already knew that!  For a sixty-two year old woman I am physically in great shape so why am I so tired?  Hmmm!  I think it is because I sit on the couch too much and so I am going to have to find a reason to get outside and do some walking.  Of course the doctor didn’t say that but I know the truth and so I will get back to walking.  I am not going to do any strenuous exercise because my poor muscles are so out of shape that they would certainly revolt!  But walking is a good exercise to begin with.  I must confess that I am really glad that my health is so good because most of my life I was ill.  I am giving God the praise for my good health because I know He is behind it all!  Thank you God, for taking such good care of me all these years.

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.  1 Corinthians 10:31, (New International Version or NIV).

So what is my secret to good health at my age?  Well, to be honest I was ill much of my life while married.  I had many surgeries and struggled with hepatitis and pancreatitis and allergies and of course I have been obese almost all my life.  I also would lose a hundred pounds and then gain a hundred pounds and then lose a hundred pounds and then gain a hundred pounds, and did this for years.  To be honest I thought that by the time I hit sixty I would probably be on oxygen or have some deadly diseases like my family all suffered from.  To get such a great report from the doctor is remarkable and that is why I am praising God!  So what is my secret to good health?  Ten years ago I changed some diet habits.  For one thing I gave up all soda and pop and have not had any carbonated drinks since.  I drink coffee that is very weak and tea and water.  I stopped using white flour in my baking and now I use either oat flour or whole-wheat flour especially made for baking.  I stopped using margarine and began using butter and the only oil that I use is olive oil even for baking.  I eat things made with white flour or oils when I go out to eat but at home I only use butter, olive oil, and whole-wheat flour.  I feel better when I stick to my plan and that is real incentive to keep away from foods that make me feel achy.  But I think what has changed the most in the past ten years that has truly affected my health is my attitude towards God.  Before the divorce I loved God and tried to live a life worthy of God but I didn’t necessarily depend upon God for everything.  Since the divorce I depend upon God for everything and I do mean everything!  I realized that God is the giver of all that I need in life and I also realized that I took God for granted in the past.  I really try not to take God for granted any longer.  My attitude changed.

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.  Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.  And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.  Colossians 3:15-17, (NIV).

Peace is a marvelous gift from the Lord.  He is the giver of peace, of real and true peace.  Living in peace with everyone has been something I always tried to do but now it is truly how I roll.  Even when a person is toxic to me I can live peacefully with them by stepping around them and not having direct contact.  I pray for them too and that gives me peace because I know that God will be taking care of them and working in their life just as He works in mine and that gives me peace.  It also gives me hope that one day relationships can be restored but not until the toxic turn to God and want to live in peace.  Music is also a wonderful gift from God and one that I have loved ever since the day of my birth.  I gain so much comfort in songs.  I love to sit down and play my piano when no one is around to listen except for God and I pour out my heart in praise to Him through music.  The most peaceful times I have ever experienced are the times I play for God!  Taking the time to spend quietly with the Lord is important and I hope that you can spend some time with Him alone.  It will change your attitude and your heart!

The wise in heart are called discerning, and gracious words promote instruction.  Prudence is a fountain of life to the prudent, but folly brings punishment to fools.  The hearts of the wise make their mouths prudent, and their lips promote instruction.  Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.  Proverbs 16:21-24, (NIV).

I believe the older I get the more time I have to spend studying God’s word and that makes me wiser which in turn makes me more gracious and forgiving than when I was younger.  There is nothing sweeter than when someone says something nice to you, right?  I love to have someone compliment me and so I also love to give heart-felt compliments to others.  The healing that takes place when someone is stressed and you take the time to say comforting words to them is so obvious.  The checker at the super-market is about to explode and I have no way of knowing why or what she is experiencing but I can be kind and compassionate and give her words of encouragement.  Words that she responds to and heals her hurting attitude so that the rest of her day goes better, now that is gracious words healing the bones!  We are to be gracious and kind and not toxic to others.  We have a Master who is gracious and kind to us so that we can pass on His love to others.  That is important to the well-being of others as much as it is important to our own health and wellness.

Now you know my secrets to good health.  I don’t run marathons or take a spin class or anything drastic but I am healthy and at my age that is more than a gift from God, it is a miracle!  I already have my next physical on my mental calendar, in 2027!  I hope my doctor will still be seeing patients then!  Have a wonderful day and may your health improve and your attitude improve and your life improve with Jesus!

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a Reply

