Taking Refuge

There have been a lot of storms recently and they are happening all across the world. From hurricanes to mudslides and tornadoes to wildfires the earth seems to be shaking to the core. Perhaps the earth is ready for judgment to come. We certainly do see much going on in this world right now.

Jesus answered: “Watch out that no one deceives you. For many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am the Messiah,’ and will deceive many. You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be famines and earthquakes in various places. All these are the beginning of birth pains. Matthew 24:4-8, (New International Version or NIV).

Wars and rumors of wars are always happening. In my lifetime I have seen many, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Iraq, Burma, Bosnia, Ukraine, Israel, Sudan, Somalia, Nigeria, and so many others that I can’t remember right now. It seems that there hasn’t been one single day in my lifetime where peace in all nations is happening.  Add to that the various disasters that happen every year we can become numb to what Jesus taught the disciples concerning the end times just before He returns. I like what David said in one of his psalms.

Keep me safe, my God, for in you I take refuge. I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.” I say of the holy people who are in the land, “They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.” Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more. I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods or take up their names on my lips. Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup; you make my lot secure. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, nor will you let your faithful one see decay. You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand. Psalm 16, (NIV).

David had many times when his life was in danger because King Saul was jealous of him and wanted him dead. This was not just a one-time deal either, year after year David was on the run from Saul. Yet he knew where to run to and who would be his protector. Only God could truly protect him while he was on the run. I am sure that there were times when David wondered what would happen next, but he never strayed from having confidence that God would protect him in his journey.

David knew that Saul was no longer running after the one true God. Saul had left God many years ago and that is when his jealousy really ramped up. We should understand this phenomenon for it can happen to us too when someone strays from God to false gods. They may think that they are not worshipping earthly gods, but in reality, they are, when they want more money, sex, drugs, and simply having their own way in everything! David states clearly what will happen to them even if it takes a long time in human years. Suffering becomes their lot in life, and they often get caught in their own web of lies too. But the one who David ran to is the same as who we run to, and that is God and Jesus. God is our protector and Jesus is our conductor to get to God. That’s how I see it.

Sometimes, well, a lot of times, our life seems full of pressure, and we feel that we just can’t take it anymore! Too many negative things seem to be happening to us or the ones we love. That phone call from the doctor saying the big C word, cancer, can overwhelm us to the breaking point. Or those big D words, death or divorce. We are unprepared and can’t fathom what has just happened to us. And so where do we go, who do we run to? Do we run to alcohol and drugs to escape the pain? Do we lash out and hurt others? Or do we take all our pain, fears, and apprehensions to Jesus? In my life, I have seen God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit working together to protect and comfort me. When I run to them, I feel safe and cared for. I know that the guidance they direct me toward in the scriptures will be exactly what I need to know in that crisis mode I find myself in. I know that better days will come because God promises that He will never leave me or forsake me. I will not be abandoned without resources to see me through if I keep my eyes on Jesus. What a comfort this is to me, and I am sure you feel comforted too when running to Jesus for protection.

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. Matthew 7:12-14, (NIV).

It is a narrow path, and often a lonely one too, when seeking to find refuge in the Lord. We must give up many things that do us harm and not good. We can’t keep attitudes that are unkind toward ourselves and others. We must shed hate and revengeful plans from our hearts too. We will bear good fruit and not bad. We won’t run after false gods and the world. Few will be our fellow travelers as we find the path to the narrow gate. Only one can go through that gate at a time, and we will not be able to blame others for our sins. It is a difficult journey; however, it is so full of blessings and rejoicing along the way.

What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs. Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. Matthew 10:27-28, (NIV).

When you have your priorities right, you will have nothing to fear except God who created you and everything else in this world. His power and might will cause you to tremble with awe and respect and love because you know He is your protector and guide. God can protect your soul through your loving faithful obedience to Jesus. Take refuge in Jesus and God will protect you. Do not be afraid, but have the courage to stand firm in your faith and you will rejoice in the presence of our Lord. Watch how you live, not like the world does, but like Jesus does.

He said: “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled. Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God. Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you. Matthew 5:3-12, (NIV).

There’s your roadmap to the narrow gate. Follow it and you will find the gate that leads to eternal life.

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.