The Final Week

What was the final week before the crucifixion of Christ like? If you knew that in a week’s time, you were going to die, what things would you be doing? Jesus came into Jerusalem riding on a donkey.

As they approached Jerusalem and came to Bethphage on the Mount of Olives, Jesus sent two disciples, saying to them, “Go to the village ahead of you, and at once you will find a donkey tied there, with her colt by her. Untie them and bring them to me. If anyone says anything to you, say that the Lord needs them, and he will send them right away.” This took place to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet: “Say to Daughter Zion, ‘See, your king comes to you, gentle and riding on a donkey, and on a colt, the foal of a donkey.’ ” Matthew 21:1-5, (New International Version or NIV).

I get that Jesus was fulfilling prophecy here, but I find it interesting that this was prophesied in the first place. I mean, kings do not ride on donkeys when making an entrance statement through the city gates. But Jesus did.

They went and found a colt outside in the street, tied at a doorway. As they untied it, some people standing there asked, “What are you doing, untying that colt?” They answered as Jesus had told them to, and the people let them go. When they brought the colt to Jesus and threw their cloaks over it, he sat on it. Many people spread their cloaks on the road, while others spread branches they had cut in the fields. Those who went ahead and those who followed shouted, “Hosanna!” “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!” “Blessed is the coming kingdom of our father David!” “Hosanna in the highest heaven!” Jesus entered Jerusalem and went into the temple courts. He looked around at everything, but since it was already late, he went out to Bethany with the Twelve. Mark 11:4-11, (NIV).

Thankfully Jesus didn’t come in naked and dancing like King David did (2 Samuel 6:16-20). But why the donkey? I think it is to show that the kingdom of Jesus is not for the high and noble arrogant but for the regular and lowly common humble people. His kingdom is not of this world, so He didn’t follow the protocol of kings riding on the best horse. What he did next was also interesting.

Jesus entered the temple courts and drove out all who were buying and selling there. He overturned the tables of the money changers and the benches of those selling doves. “It is written,” he said to them, “ ‘My house will be called a house of prayer,’ but you are making it ‘a den of robbers.’” The blind and the lame came to him at the temple, and he healed them. But when the chief priests and the teachers of the law saw the wonderful things he did and the children shouting in the temple courts, “Hosanna to the Son of David,” they were indignant. “Do you hear what these children are saying?” they asked him. “Yes,” replied Jesus, “have you never read, “ ‘From the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise’?” And he left them and went out of the city to Bethany, where he spent the night. Matthew 21:12-17, (NIV).

I guess if I tore up the temple vendors and made a scene, I wouldn’t stay in Jerusalem for the night either. Jesus knew He was making a statement and knew there would be consequences for that, but it wasn’t His time just yet, and so I think His going to Bethany was to escape the plot to kill Him before it was time to do so. I often wonder what Jesus must think of some churches today that have their coffee machines, breakfast items, and polished concerts disguised as worship before the sharing of God’s word. What do you think? Is there a similarity to the temple vendors? Jesus only was gone from Jerusalem for one night it seems, and now it was time to celebrate the Passover, the reason so many people had come to Jerusalem.

On the first day of the Festival of Unleavened Bread, the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Where do you want us to make preparations for you to eat the Passover?” He replied, “Go into the city to a certain man and tell him, ‘The Teacher says: My appointed time is near. I am going to celebrate the Passover with my disciples at your house.’ ” So the disciples did as Jesus had directed them and prepared the Passover. When evening came, Jesus was reclining at the table with the Twelve. And while they were eating, he said, “Truly I tell you, one of you will betray me.” They were very sad and began to say to him one after the other, “Surely you don’t mean me, Lord?” Jesus replied, “The one who has dipped his hand into the bowl with me will betray me. The Son of Man will go just as it is written about him. But woe to that man who betrays the Son of Man! It would be better for him if he had not been born.” Then Judas, the one who would betray him, said, “Surely you don’t mean me, Rabbi?” Jesus answered, “You have said so.” Matthew 26:17-25, (NIV).

It was a celebratory meal and so many preparations needed to be carried out for it, just like we do for our celebratory meals today. A place was found that would be safe and private. The menu was prepared, and the food was purchased also. Jesus knew what was coming even though the disciples didn’t. He had tried to prepare them, but they were still in the dark about it all. They were just there to have a celebration with their Lord.

While they were eating, Jesus took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.” Then he took a cup, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. I tell you, I will not drink from this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.” When they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives. Matthew 26:26-30, (NIV).

This is probably the most quoted passage down through the centuries as we come together to partake in communion. I know that when I was growing up, I heard this every Sunday and I found it comforting as I prepared my mind and heart to take communion.

A dispute also arose among them as to which of them was considered to be greatest. Jesus said to them, “The kings of the Gentiles lord it over them; and those who exercise authority over them call themselves Benefactors. But you are not to be like that. Instead, the greatest among you should be like the youngest, and the one who rules like the one who serves. For who is greater, the one who is at the table or the one who serves? Is it not the one who is at the table? But I am among you as one who serves. You are those who have stood by me in my trials. And I confer on you a kingdom, just as my Father conferred one on me, so that you may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom and sit on thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. Luke 22:24-30, (NIV).

 I’m sure this was probably friendly banter and not an out-and-out quarrel, but it still looks bad. Jesus must have been disappointed that on the verge of His total destruction (or so Satan thought) that His good friends would fight about who would be first! Sounds like little boys to me.

 “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.” Luke 22:31-32, (NIV).

Satan must have been enjoying what was about to take place. He actually asked to sift Peter and the rest of the disciples. I wonder if he had planned to do to Peter the things he had done to Job when he asked to sift him (Job 1). It is chilling to me that Satan can ask to sift us. We can only withstand the sifting with Jesus beside us. I am thankful that Jesus is our Lord and Savior. Aren’t you? What is coming is the agony that becomes our ecstasy. I hope you take time to think about the importance of Easter, but Good Friday must come first.

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.