The Priestly Blessing

In some churches today there is a benediction blessing offered before the congregation dismisses. My church hasn’t been doing this for many years, but other churches that I have attended still do and I think it is rather nice to hear. Let’s look at that blessing today and see what we can learn from it.

The Lord said to Moses, “Tell Aaron and his sons, ‘This is how you are to bless the Israelites. Say to them: “ ‘ “The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.” ’ “So they will put my name on the Israelites, and I will bless them.” Numbers 6:22-27, (New International Version or NIV).

Moses was given many instructions from God on how he was to set up corporate worship for the nation of Israel. There were instructions on how to worship, when to worship, and much more information. Each tribe had something they could contribute to the maintenance of God’s people and the tribe of Levites was no exception. Aaron was the head of the Levites, the tribe that was assigned to oversee worship as priests for the people. Every priest was from the Levite tribe as it was their duty. God tells Moses to tell Aaron and his sons to say this blessing. This generational edict helps us see that this was to be a blessing that was passed down through the generations. I think it is nice to see that this blessing is still used today.

The Lord bless you and keep you: we learn from this that only God is the giver of blessings. Not only does God bless us but He also takes care of us and keeps us provided for as well as protected each and every day. He keeps us safe from harm. He keeps us fed and clothed. He keeps us from being harmed by the evil one. He does so much for us.

the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you: God’s face is radiant, and we can’t even begin to look at it. How comforting it is to know that such a powerful God is working on our behalf all the time. We have freedom in Christ because God shines down on us through His Son. We are given grace in so many ways it is hard to visualize. We are forgiven of our sins. We are made strong when we are weak. We are kept from falling into temptation as we are given a way to avoid the traps of the evil one. If we do fall and are sucked into doing evil, we have a conscience that will remind us to repent and be freed from sin. We are never forgotten or forsaken. We are not abandoned or left to figure out life on our own. We are given a shepherd to follow because of the grace God extended to all through the blood of Jesus Christ shed on the cross. Grace upon grace upon grace is ours.

the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace: We are assured that God will never turn away from us and what a blessing this is. Jesus intercedes on our behalf (Romans 8:34) as does the Holy Spirit in prayer (Romans 8:26-27). Because we belong to Jesus and His righteousness shines through us, we can be seen by God (2 Corinthians 5:17-21). And now we are at peace with God (Romans 5:1-2). It is a peace that transcends all understanding (Philippians 4:7), our minds can’t begin to comprehend the peace that comes upon us. We can’t understand it all, but we can feel it when it comes.

So they will put my name on the Israelites, and I will bless them. Some will say that this blessing is only for the Israeli people. I disagree and here’s why.

Therefore, brothers and sisters, we have an obligation—but it is not to the flesh, to live according to it. For if you live according to the flesh, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live. For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. Romans 8:12-17, (NIV).

My son is adopted. We adopted him when he was seventeen months old, and he has been a part of our family ever since. He is an heir with full legal status just as my biological children have. My parents were his grandparents. My genealogy has become his as well. He is wholly and completely in our family. So, it is with us as we have become a part of God’s family. In Romans, Paul makes this clear, but so does Jesus.

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples. “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. John 15:1-10, (NIV).

God is our father. Jesus is our brother and redeemer as well as our savior. And who are we? We are the branches that can do nothing without Jesus. If we do nothing then we will wither and be thrown into the fire by God, who is the head gardener. Our heritage is to be found within the family of God, which means we have been adopted into this family, which is made up of the twelve tribes of Israel. I love having such a rich historical heritage, don’t you?

The priestly blessing is so beautiful to me because it encompasses every blessing that God gives to not only nations but also individuals. It was first intended to be a blessing upon the twelve tribes of Israel. But since Jesus died on the cross and rose again as the firstborn to defeat the hold on death by Satan, this blessing has expanded to many more people groups, more tribes, and more individuals. It is a blessing that can be used in a church in Africa, Great Britain, America, China, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, India, Hong Kong, Sweden, Spain, Turkey, Iraq, and so many more places. It is a blessing that can be given to individuals in every church group in the world. And the blessings of God continue daily in our lives. We are a very blessed people, and we must never forget that. But remember the word “if” at the beginning of the blessing. If we obey, if we remain obedient, if we keep on the righteous path, then the blessings are ours to have and hold and forever be thankful for.

the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you;

The Lord bless you and keep you;

the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.

Until next time…Katherine

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.